Committees and Task Forces

Want to get involved with NAON, but not sure where to start? Learn more about each of our committees and task forces by reading the descriptions below or contacting the committee chair. Once you’ve found the committee(s) you’d like to join, fill out a Willingness to Serve form.
Acquiring Interested Members Committee (AIM)
Committee Members: Ashley Streett, MSN, RN, ONC, CCRN; Cindy Lewis, DNP, APRN, ONP-C Candy Mori, PhD, RN, APRN, ACNS-BC, ONC; Terri Lynn Overmiller, RN, MSC, ONC, MSC; Mary Rodts, DNP, CNP, ONC, FAAN; Lynn Burkett, MBA, BSN, RN, ONC
The AIM committee strives to match the skills of interested members with volunteer positions within the organization.
Advancing the Career of Orthopaedic RNs (ACORN)
Committee Members: Ka pik (Becky) Ng, RN; Brittany Gocus-Browning, MSN, RN, CMSRN; Lindsey McNally, BSN, RN; Terri Overmiller, MSN, RN, CMSRN, ONC; Clarissa Watkins, BSN, ONC; Heather Tripp, MSN, RN, AGCNS-BC, ONC
The ACORN committee serves as the voice of NAON’s early career nurse members to ensure their needs are met by the association. Our goal is to share the benefits of nurturing early career nurses into their chosen specialty while retaining our seasoned members and encouraging their continued support. This committee implements activities including webinars, website resources, mentorships, online education, and events to engage and attract new nurses to NAON. The ACORN committee is always open to suggestions to ensure members' needs are met by the association.
Chapter and Affiliate Team (CAT)
Committee Members: Heather Barnes, DNP, APRN, CPNP, ONC, Janet Huston, RN, BSN, ON-C; Heather Roy, MS, BSN, RN, ATC, ONC
The CAT’s responsibilities include recommending methods to strengthen and promote chapter growth, assessing chapter viability, and facilitating new affiliates to form or weak chapters to fold. The CAT serves as a resource to the chapter presidents and affiliate leaders and has bi-weekly contact with chapter and affiliate leaders.  
Leadership Seach Committee (LSC)
Committee Members: Gary Salcedo, ADN, ONC; Amber Kujath, PhD, RN, ONC
The LSC is appointed by the NAON Executive Board to actively recruit candidates for elected offices. The committee prepares a ballot that is sent to active members at the beginning of each calendar year. To download the candidate application packet, click here. To view position descriptions and the future election cycle, click here
Local Affairs Task Force 
The Local Affairs Task Force is a dedicated group of individuals with extensive knowledge of geographic locations and local resources of the city where the current year’s Annual Congress takes place. The task force provides travel information on dining, shopping, tours, directions, and more, making your Congress experience that much better.
NAON Education Committee 
Committee Members: Brandon Brock, DNP, DC, MSN, RN, NP-C, APRN, DAAIM, DACNB, Lisa Franz RN, MSN, Diane Jeselskis, BSN, RN, ONC, Mary Hellen Lezan, MS, BS, APRN, RNP-C, Jessica Pelkowski, DNP, APRN, AGPCP-BC, Nicole Stewart MSN, RN, ONC, Stacy Parker BSN, Kim Wilder MSN, CNS, ONC, Amy Chrisman MSN, APRN, RN, APN-BC, Franz Henryk Vergara, PHD, DNP, RN, ONC, CCM
The Education Committee consists of four units: Congress Unit, Advance Practice Nursing Unit, Webinar Unit and the Activities and Products Unit. The committee is responsible for developing, implementing, and evaluating the NAON education programming for both NAON's Annual Congress, reviewing and revising current NAON’s educational products and activities, and planning, authoring and reviewing new educational products and activities.
Research Committee 
Committee Members: Brittany Gocus-Browning, MSN, RN, CMSRN; Lori Fitton, PhD, APRN, CNP, CCD; Brittany Keene, DNP, RN, AGACNP-BC, ONC; Candy Mori, PhD, RN, APRN, ACNS-BC, ONC, Matt Lowe, MDiv, MSN, APRN, FNP-C, ONC
The Research Committee brings research to the forefront of NAON activities. The NAON research grants provide funding for promising research projects by qualified investigators in the field of orthopaedic nursing.